Banter Blitz Cup

Home / Banter Blitz Cup

Banter Blitz Cup

In a sensational showdown at the inaugural edition of the Banter Blitz Cup, Alireza Firouzja announced himself with an 8.5:7.5 win over World Chess Champion Magnus Carlsen. One year on and the Banter Blitz Cup 2021 is back. The event will return on June 4 bigger, and better, than ever before – and with a Spanish flavour!

This year’s second edition – not including the Banter Blitz Series last autumn – will see 64 players compete in eight mini-tournaments before the grand final. The mini-tournaments will be knockouts running over three days with only the winners progressing to the final, a round-robin that runs from July 7 to July 10.

Also, this edition of Banter Blitz features Indian GM’s participating such as Vidit, Adhiban, Gukesh, Raunak, Srinath and a few more.


Group E - Qualifier

Day 1 – 20th June 2021
GM Vidit Gujrathi (2636) vs GM Simon Williams (2464) – 5:0

Day 2 – 21st June 2021
GM Vidit Gujrathi (2636) vs GM Laurent Fressinet (2676) – 5:1

Day 3 – 22nd June 2021
GM Vidit Gujrathi (2636) vs GM Klementy Sychev (2484) – 4.5:2.5